WITH Spen being covered by a blanket of snow this weekend, we thought readers might like to see some wintry pictures of the valley from days gone by.
The pictures have been taken from Norman Ellis’s book, Images of England – Spen Valley.
Our first photo shows a picturesque Cornmill Lane around 1910 when it was a no more than a country lane.
Until the turn of the 20th century it was actually known as Little Lane. There was a mill in the vicinity which was partly used for corn grinding, hence the name.
In the distance in the extreme left, is one of the gasometers of the Heckmondwike and Liversedge Gas Company. This came under the control of Spenborough Council in 1921.
The second picture shows a snow-covered Dymond Siding which was part of the Strawberry Bank Colliery in Liversedge, around 1911.
The L&YR Spen Valley branch is shown below the embankment, with Railway Street and Edward Street at the back.
The triangular junction gave direct access to the colliery and coke ovens to the south of Liversedge Station.
Our last photograph is of The Bottoms in Cleckheaton and the historic Victorian viaduct.
To provide easier access to its station and goods yard, the LNWR constructed the viaduct to carry pedestrians and vehicles.
It crossed a part of the Spen Valley which is still known locally as Spen Bottoms, and is also the location of Mann Dam.