Warning over Apple ‘Your order has been placed’ phishing scam

editorial image
0
Have your say

IPhone users are being warned about a scam email purporting to be from the Apple iTunes Store.

The email claims that your order as been placed and that if you did not authorise the purchase, you need to click a ‘cancel’ link.

But the email is not from Apple and is a phishing scam designed to trick people into sending their Apple ID and other financial information.

If you click the ‘cancel’ link you will be taken to a fraudulent website, which looks like the real Apple ID login page. After entering your ID and password you are then taken to a fake site, which contains the bogus cancellation form, which asks for your personal details, including credit card numbers.

If you receive such an email, do not click any links or open any attachments that it contains.

Apple say it is always safest to login to your Apple account by entering the address into your browser’s address bar or via a legitimate Apple app.