Thornhill Lees rescue point but winning run ends

Have your say

THORNHILL Lees saw their 100 per cent record in the Heavy Woollen Sunday League Premier Division ended when they were held to a 3-3 draw at West End.

Gibril Bojang, Paul Smith and Luke Sherman netted for the home side, with Nathan Kemp, Lee Ryan and an own goal rescuing a point for Lees, who are still six point clear at the top.

Birkenshaw climbed to third after Craig Firth, Nathan Foster and Paul Smith struck in a 3-2 win over bottom side Battyeford, who replied through Bobby Evans and Jamie Brannan.

Dewsbury Rangers moved three points clear at the top of the Championship after Jamie Beever fired a hat-trick in a 3-1 win over previous leaders Mirfield Town, who replied through Craig Johnson.

Oakwell Motel threw away a four- goal lead to lose 6-5 against Taylor who scored through Yusuf Akudi (hat-trick), Ahmed Seedat, Ashraf Navsarka and Ashraf Lakhi.

Gomersal edged out Birstall St Patricks 3-2 thanks to strikes from Jordan Midwood, Joshua Smith and Andy Kaye. Sam Tyrell netted both of Birstall’s replies.

In the battle of the bottom two sides, Carriers Arms emerged 8-0 winners over Scholes Athletic.

Rob Bordman fired a hat-tick as St John Fisher progressed to the Heavy Woollen Challenge Cup second round with a 4-1 win over AFC Chickenley.

Matthew Thompson hit the other, with Sean Housecroft replying for Chickenley. Tom Addy’s early strike was enough to earn Hartshead a 1-0 win over Overthorpe SC.

Ashley Flynn and Danny Facey fired a brace each in Towngate’s 6-3 win over FC Pack Horse. Josh Cooke and Levi Maturine hit the others, while Jonathan Irving (two) and Marcus Newby replied for Pack Horse.

Other HW Sunday League results

Div 1: Batley Irish Nash v Barr Street - Abandoned; Bay Horse East Ardsley 4, Birkenshaw Res 4; Northorpe United 4, Railway East Ardsley 1. Div 2: Jardy Boys 7, Snowdon 0.

Heavy Woollen Challenge Trophy first round: Rising Sun 0, Mount Pleasant 2; St John Fisher Res 5, St Ignatius 2; Overthorpe SC Res 3, Ravenswharfe 6; Mirfield Town Res 3, Hightown 5; Battyeford Res 7, Batley Celtics 1; Railway East Ardsley 1, Birkenshaw Res 3; Shears Athletic 5, Rose of York 0; White Horse 5, Black Horse 0.