Tour de Yorkshire times revealed for stage three

The times for when the world’s top cyclists will pass through Stage three of the The Tour de Yorkshire have been revealed.

Wednesday, 4th March 2015, 9:50 am
PICTURE BY SHAUN FLANNERY/SWPIX.COM Picture by Shaun Flannery/ - 21/01/2015 - Cycling - Tour de Yorkshire 2015 Route Launch - The Spa, Bridlington, England Team Sky cyclist Ben Swift (R) and former cyclist Brian Robinson (L) pictured with local school children to launch the route of the 2015 Tour de Yorkshire.

Stage three will see the peloton make a return to some of the roads raced in the 2014 Yorkshire Grand Départ of the Tour de France on May 3.

Starting in Wakefield, riders will travel south to Barnsley before heading to Holmfirth where they pick up the Grand Départ route in reverse, racing to Ripponden before riding the iconic Cragg Vale - which in the Tour de France was the country’s longest continual climb and now becomes the longest continual descent.

The riders will then make their way to Hebden Bridge, Oxenhope and through the famous cobbled streets of Haworth, one of the most iconic images of the Tour de France in Yorkshire. After a steep climb at Goose Eye the riders will once again see Ilkley, with the famous climb up the Cow & Calf before a sprint point at Arthington and then what is expected to be a hugely popular finish line in Roundhay Park in Leeds.

Organisers have now released the times they expect the riders to come through the region.

Riders will start from Wakefield at 12.15pm and will pass through the following areas:

Sandal 12.31pm

A61 Newmillerdam 12.35pm

Barnsley (A61-LRD-A635-LRD-A635) 12.42pm

A635 Barugh Green 12.54pm

Cawthorne 12.59pm

Lower Denby (A635-LRD-A635) 13.07pm

Denby Dale 13.09pm

Upper Cumberworth 13.11pm

A635 New Mill 13.18pm

Wooldale 13.21pm

Holmfirth (A635-A6024-A635-A6024-LRD-A635) 13.24pm

Côte de Holmfirth (KOM) NC 13.28pm

Meltham 13.31pm

Marsden (B6107-A62) 13.40pm

Slaithwaite 13.45pm

Côte de Scapegoat (KOM) NC 13.51pm

B6614 Barkisland (CALDERDALE) 14.07pm

LRD Crossroads LRD Stainland road -B6113 14.12pm

B6113 Ripponden 14.13pm

B6138 Cragg Vale (CALDERDALE) 14.34pm

Mytholmroyd (B6138-A646) 14.38pm

Hebden Bridge (A646-A6033) 14.42pm

A6033 Côte de Hebden Bridge (KOM) NC 14.48pm

OXENHOPE 14.56pm

HAWORTH (A6033-LRD-B6412-LRD) 15.00pm

LRD Leeds Finish 16.34pm

Gary Verity, Chief Executive of Welcome to Yorkshire, said: “Today’s confirmation of the timings and precise routes in and out of the start and finish towns and cities will help fans, spectators and businesses who can now begin to plan their weekend, where to watch and how to get the best out of the event.

“This is going to be an extremely exciting three days for Yorkshire”.

Thierry Gouvenou, Tour de France Sports Director said; “Our technical team had a good final visit to Yorkshire and we are very happy with the route the riders will take. With 515km in total there are some excellent opportunities throughout the three days for spectators to see riders take Sprint and King of the Mountain climb points, ahead of finish lines designed to generate the kind of welcome that Yorkshire spectators gave the peloton in the Tour de France”.