Batley edge out Ossett in CYL thriller

Tariq Hussain claimed 3-12 in 5.2 overs as Batley defeated Ossett by just three runs in the CYL Premier Division.
Tariq Hussain claimed 3-12 in 5.2 overs as Batley defeated Ossett by just three runs in the CYL Premier Division.

Batley moved eight points clear of the Central Yorkshire League Premier Division’s bottom two thanks to a three-run win over Ossett.

A low scoring game went right down to the wire and it was Batley captain Tariq Hussain who proved the match winner, claiming 3-12 in 5.2 overs.

Batley were indebted to a fine innings of 40 not out by no8 batsman Mohammed Shah Nawaz as they were bowled out for 102, with Charles Orme claiming 4-43.

Ossett opener Shoaib Latif scored at a run a ball in his 44, including seven fours and a six, before Batley fought back.

Huzaifa Patel claimed 3-47 and with Hussain’s effort’s, Ossett were dismissed for 99 as Batley earned a third win of the season.

Birstall produced an excellent run chase to beat Carlton.

Ismail Patel (76), Jonathan Hughes (42) and Pat Hinchliffe (40) were among the runs as Carlton posted 236-9.

Opener Craig Wood led Birstall’s replying top scoring with 68, while support came from Eric Austin (42), Nick Kaye (41) and Rob McFarlane (39) as Birstall secured a five-wicket win with 19 balls to spare and they lie sixth in the table.

Mirfield Parish Cavaliers remain second-bottom, level on 11 points with Buttershaw St Pauls, following an eight-wicket defeat by Wakefield Thornes.

Captain Tim Orrell led the Parish innings with 73, while Bash Khan (33) supported but they were bowled out for 172 as Matthew Varley (4-64) and Ravinda Palliyaguruge (3-40) did the damage.

Thornes eased to their target by eight wickets and more than 15 overs to spare as James Wolfenden (51), David Toft (53no) and Joseph Cook (33no) produced fine knocks.

Townville closed the gap on leaders Methley to just four points following a six-wicket win over third-bottom Buttershaw.

Jack Hughes claimed 7-23 as Buttershaw were dismissed for 163, with Chris Holliday making an unbeaten 71 to steer Townville home.

Methley were restricted to a four-point win by Hunslet Nelson.

Warren Ekstraal made 57 in Nelson’s 161-9, with Eddie Walmsley claiming 5-40.

Ekstraal followed up with 5-39 and although Marcus Walmsley top scored with 38, there were a few anxious moments for the champions, who eventually edged home by one wicket.

Wrenthorpe racked up 370-2 declared on their way to a 153-run victory over bottom side Altofts.