Cleckheaton cricket stalwart Bob Speight claims top award

Cleckheaton Cricket Club stalwart Bob Speight was awarded the prestigious Sir Leonard Hutton Trophy at last Friday’s Bradford League presentation and dinner.

Tuesday, 24th November 2015, 1:33 pm
Cleckheaton stalwart Bob Speight receives the Len Hutton Trophy from Bradford League President Keith Moss

Bob has acted as the club’s scorer for the past 54 years, aprt from two seasons when he played for Cleckheaton’s second team.

He has also acted as club secretary for 26 years, three of which were in a joint capacity.

Bob has also been the league’s assistant secretary and has scored for the league’s representative team and the Yorkshire Cricket Board XI when they played in the NatWest Trophy.

The important Clubmark accreditation, which Cleckheaton have recently renewed, also owes a great deal to Bob’s tireless work, while he also wrote a book celebrating 150 years of cricket at Moorend.

Hanging Heaton won the Tom Mathers Most Improved Ground trophy, awarded to Roy Holdsworth, while Gomersal won the Albert Smith Spirit of Cricket award.

Pudsey St Lawrence opener Mark Robertshaw was the JCT600 Players’ Player of the Year winner and won the WH Foster Jubilee Trophy for the best Division One first-team batting average and the Stafford Heginbotham Tebro Trophy for the highest batting aggregate in both divisions.

Woodlands’ left-arm spinner Chris Brice picked up two awards – the WH Foster Jubilee Trophy for the best Division One first-team bowling average, which he had previously won in 2008, and the Stafford Heginbotham Castle Trophy for most wickets, which he last won in 2010.

Morley all-rounder Ben Jenkinson was named Gordon Bowers Young Cricketer of the year.


WH Foster Jubilee Trophy First X1 Division One Batting Averages: Mark Robertshaw (Pudsey St Lawrence)

WH Foster Jubilee Trophy First X1 Division One Bowling Averages: Chris Brice (Woodlands)

Margaret E Mallinson First X1 Batting Averages Div 2: Fahad Ul-Haq (Hartshead Moor)

Michael Fearnley Trophy First X1 Division Two Bowling Averages: Ben Jenkinson (Morley)

Stafford Heginbotham Tebro Trophy Highest Batting Aggregate Division One & Two: Mark Robertshaw (Pudsey St Lawrence)

Stafford Heginbotham Castle Trophy Highest Aggregate wickets: Chris Brice (Woodlands)

A Waddington Fielding Trophy: Nick Lindley (Pudsey Congs)

Federation Trophy Fielding Division Two: Robert Ellis (Bankfoot)

F Milton Watmough Wicketkeeping Trophy 1st XI: Charlie Best (Bradford & Bingley)

Parkside Trophy Division Two Wicketkeeping Most Victims): Luke Heinemann (Morley)

Stan Longbottom Safe Hands Trophy 1st X1 Most League Stumpings: Faisal Mahmood (Bowling Old Lane) & Liam Thomas (Scholes)

Pennine Trophy Highest individual score: Gary Fellows (Hanging Heaton ) 192

Harry Crabtree Fastest Fifty Trophy: Humayun Shahzad (Keighley)

John Heaton Memorial Trophy for highest opening partnership in Div 1 or 2: Gary Fellows and Nick Connolly (Hanging Heaton)

R Park Guild Trophy 2ndXI Division One Batting Average: Scott Richardson (New Farnley)

JR Burnet Trophy 2ndXI Division One Bowling Average: Paul Machell (Yeadon)

Bruce W Moss Trophy Second Teams Division Two Batting Average: Stuart Kirk (East Bierley)

W Hopkinson 2ndXI Division Two Bowling Average: Assad Ullah Nasir (Bankfoot)

A Leslie Mollett Trophy 2ndXI Fielding: Jake Broadbent (Lightcliffe)

G Palfreyman Wicketkeeping Trophy Divisions 1 &2 Most victims: Jack Allman (Pudsey St Lawrence)

Mick Illingworth Safe Glove Trophy Most Stumpings Second Teams Division 1 & 2: Craig Russell (New Farnley)

Sir Learie Constantine All Rounders Trophy Division One: Suleman Khan (Lightcliffe)

Jack Hill All Rounders Trophy Division Two: Muhammad Yasin (Windhill)

Ernest Lodge Trophy Young Spin Bowler of the Year: Amir Hussain (Undercliffe)

Gordon Bowers Young Cricketer of the Year Trophy: Ben Jenkinson (Morley)

Albert Smith Spirit of Cricket: Gomersal

Tom Mathers Most Improved Ground: Hanging Heaton

JCT 600 Players’ Player of the Year: Mark Robertshaw (Pudsey St Lawrence)

JCT 600 Unsung Hero: Andrew Hunt (Hanging Heaton)

Sir Leonard Hutton Trophy For outstanding service: Bob Speight (Cleckheaton)