Cleckheaton look to secure National spot

James Wilson was among Cleckheaton's try scorers in last week's impressive victory away to Wirral.
James Wilson was among Cleckheaton's try scorers in last week's impressive victory away to Wirral.

Cleckheaton can guarantee their place in National League Three North for next season if results in Saturday’s round of matches go their way.

The Moorenders travel to second-bottom Birkenhead Park (ko 3pm) knowing victory, coupled with defeat for Huddersfield YMCA, will be enough to see them safe.

Cleckheaton have won six of their last nine matches to haul themselves out of the relegation zone and they travel to Birkenhead in confident mood following their impressive victory over promotion chasing Wirral last weekend.

James Wilson, Jack Seddon and Andy Piper were Cleckheaton’s scorers in a 20-12 victory, with many of the Moorenders’ travelling support describing it as the best performance of the season.

If they can continue this form for the remaining few games Cleckheaton can be confident against who ever they are playing.

Cleckheaton’s final home game is against Rossendale on April 16, while they end the campaign with a trip to Firwood Waterloo on April 23.

Selected Sides

1stXV at Birkenhead Park, ko 3pm, meet 11.45am: James Wilson, Martin Woodhead, Josh Hall, Matt Piper, Brad Marsden, Ronan Evans, Jack Bickerdike, Paul Turner, Mark Chivers, Andy Piper, Ryan Piercy, Tom Austin, James Crowther, Jack Seddon, Richard Piper. Reps: Mark Barlow, Joey Carley, Danny Graham.

Kestrels at Ilkley, ko 3pm, meet 12.30pm: Lewis Beasty, Ben Womersley, George Speight, Craig Blackburn, Danny Archer, Ed Curley, Joe Humphreys, Niall Jackson, Ben Thrower, Will Denham, Rob Lowe, Matt Wood, Ollie Clark, Charlie McGovern, Mark Sargeant. Reps: Ady Lowe, Cain Crotty, Rob Brown, James Sheridan, Elliott Hallas.

3rdXV: No Game.

4thXV at Burley ko 3pm, meet 1.30pm: Dave Buton, Julian Jackson, Craig Aspinall, Nick Lazenby, Alex Bailey, Anthony Hobson, Bob Thornton, Max Blakely, Andy Porritt, Danny Howe, Josh Womersley, Andy Womersley, Jacob Blesic, Danny McGuigan, Darren Webb. Replacements: Andy Brown, Phil Manning, Paul Eastwood, Nick Wagstaff, Jason Sutcliffe.