Cleckheaton seek home comforts to start key spell

CLECKHEATON will be aiming to bounce back from last week’s defeat to Pocklington when they welcome Malton & Norton to Moorend tomorrow (kick off 3pm).

Cleck appeared on course to register a third win in North One East last Saturday when they built up a 23-9 lead only for Pocklington to fightback and snatch a dramatic 24-23 win thanks to a controversial last minute penalty.

It was unfortunate on Cleckheaton, who had worked hard to gain the ascendancy, but they must learn to close games out once they have built such a substantial lead.

The clash against third-bottom Malton kick-starts an important month for the Moorenders, who travel to unbeaten joint leaders Beverley the following week and then entertain Morley in an eagerly anticipated derby on October 20.

Malton may lie in the lower reaches of the table but they pushed Morley all the way last week before being edged out 19-17, having had the chance to snatch a draw when they scored a last-minute try but missed the conversion.

Weekend selected sides

1stXV v Malton & Norton, ko 3pm, meet 1.30pm: R Hayden, M Woodhead, Jonno Marshall, M Piper, J Wilson, I Gordon, J Bickerdike, B Thrower, S Worsley, P Turner, G Turton, R Piercy, M Sargeant, R Piper, O Akroyd. Replacements: D Nolan, C Piper, J Toulson.

Kestrels at Old Crossleyans, ko 3pm, meet 1pm: T Brooke, M Johnson, James Marshall, G Lamb, P Horrigan, C Blackburn, M Fletcher, L Goldthorpe, R Motlib, L Haigh, A Piper, M Beasty, R Bennett, L Bashforth, N Clayton. Replacements: C Mason, T Crewe, M Hadfield, J White, C Davis.

3rdXV at Huddersfield YM 2ndXV, ko 3pm, meet 1.30pm: C Wilson, H Bairstow, A Edwards, M Howard, A McCarthy, J Duggan, R Noble, A Lowe, A Porritt, S Smith, M Womersley, L Ashley, J Close, D Graham, M Terry. Replacements: R Simpson, A Stanley, C Brannan, C Aspinall.

4thXV at Roundhegians Vets, ko 3pm, meet 1.15pm: B Womersley, J Windle, G Dixon, J Mate, A Tilby-Baxter, R Land, N Lazenby, M Blakeley, S Fletcher, A Womersley, I Webb, J Womersley, M Nicholson, J Colt, D Webb. Replacements: A Robinson, D Boye, A Bailey, S Hawksworth, T Owens.