Impressive late surge clinches promotion for Mirfield

EAST Ardsley A clinched the Division Two title thanks to a narrow two-wicket win over Gildersome writes Andrew Hunt.

Friday, 28th September 2012, 5:15 am

There were mixed emotions at Jeffrey Field for although Ardsley celebrated the title, the result condemned Gildersome to relegation.

David Battye rolled back the years to claim 5-9 from 15 overs, eight of which were maidens.

Adam Pearson chipped in with 3-22 as Gildersome were bowled out for 91 in the 48th over.

Gildersome fought back superbly as Martin Morley (4-33) and Anil Barot (4-29) reduced Ardsley to 53-8 before Ashley Battye (17no) and Christopher Towell (17no) steered them to victory in the 40th over.

Ardsley leapfrogged Ossett A on the final day to clinch the title but they can not be promoted to the same division as their first team.

Ossett suffered a 42-run defeat to Mirfield, who clinched third spot and will be promoted to Division One alongside the Queens Terrace outfit.

Mirfield have produced a superb late run to clinch promotion in their first season back in the CYL.

Nohman Hussain (44), captain Andrew Knowles (27) and Sajad Hussain (25) helped Mirfield reach 125 all out and although Gavin Goodlad (25) top scored in reply, Ossett were bowled out for 87 as Nohman Hussain claimed 4-25, while Nasser Saudagar and Emma Bolt picked up two wickets apiece.

Birstall A overcame Altofts A by six runs to finish the season fourth.

Sean Twohig (55) and teenager Matthew Dyson (55) produced a 90-run opening wicket stand which helped Birstall reach 222-7 from their 50-over allocation.

Joe Logan top scored with 61 in reply but Altofts were bowled out six runs short on 216 as Adil Taj ended with 5-55.

Batley A also ended on a high after defeating Buttershaw St Pauls A by 15 runs.

Umar Majid (58) and Ebrahim Kayet (46) led the way in Batley’s 198 all out before Saqlib Talib (4-37) and Waseem Rabani (3-45) helped dismiss Buttershaw for 173.

Thornhill & Westborough and Azaad from the Huddersfield Central League, along with Rodley from the Dales Council, have all been accepted into the Central Yorkshire League for next season,