Gomersal move third after ending Bankfoot’s run

Hartshead Moor's Danny Squire in action against Wrenthorpe.
Hartshead Moor's Danny Squire in action against Wrenthorpe.

Gomersal ended Bankfoot’s recent good run of form by recording a five-wicket win to move third in Bradford League Championship B.

Left-arm bowler James Russell picked up 4-44 as Bankfoot were dismissed for 155, despite Josh Marsden (52) hitting a half century and Micky Hutchings (35) supporting.

Craig Lightowler made an unbeaten 46 and Jack Seddon (36) as Gomersal passed Bankfoot’s the total with six overs to spare.

Gomersal are just a point behind second placed Methley, who claimed maximum points from a 95-run win over Spen Victoria.

Hamid Khan (92) and Luke Bullingham (34) helped Methley post 252-6, with Nicholas Montgomery (3-42) pick of the Spen bowlers.

Oliver Davison (45), Peter Jackson (43) and Montgomery (29) led Spen’s reply but they were bowled out for 157 in 45 overs as Edward Walmsley (3-34) and Samuel Mofokeng (3-30) impressed.

Wrenthorpe’s bowlers had a field day as they dismissed Hartshead Moor for just 48 to set up a 10-wicket success.

Jonathan Rudge (5-20) and Jordan Sleightholme (3-9) bowled Hartshead out in just 29.1 overs.

Wrenthorpe cruised to victory in 6.3 overs with Greg Wood hitting 38 not out.

Hopton Mills suffered a six-wicket defeat at Bowling Old Lane as they were dismissed for 116.

Chris Scott (38) top scored as Sadaqat Zaman took 3-23 before Ahsan Butt (36) helped Old Lane secured victory.

Townville are 12 points clear at the top after a nine-wicket win over Altofts.

Heckmondwike and Carlinghow moved up to second place in the Conference after defeating Gildersome by nine runs to pick up a third win in four matches.

Heckmondwike are 14 points behind leaders Buttershaw St Paul’s, who picked up a fourth straight win, as they defeated Crossbank Methodists by 110 runs.

Paul Cooper led the way with 74 as Heckmondwike were bowled out for 195 in the face of determined bowling from Razeb Raja (5-49) and Liam Pearson (4-35).

Cooper followed up by taking 5-33 as Gildersome, were dismissed for 186 despite Haseeb Hashmi making 72.

Adam Wainwright and Kevin McDermott made centuries as leaders Buttershaw St Paul’s made 311-4 against Crossbank.

Opener McDermott hit a six and 13 fours on his way to 102 as he shared a first-wicket stand of 99 with Jonathan Burston (53) before being joined in a third-wicket partnership of 169 by Wainwright.

Wainwright was particularly severe on the Crossbank bowlers as he hammered seven sixes and four fours in his 79-ball innings of 116.

Crossbank made 201 in reply as James Lord (43) and Anees Rawat (38) made St Paul’s work hard for their win.

Tosh Baker (4-55) and Dharmesh Mistry (3-43) were the pick of the bowlers as Buttershaw picked up maximum points.