Jackson fires 202 in Parish success

DAVE Jackson had a day to remember blasting a double century as Mirfield Parish Cavaliers A hammered Moorlands A by 176 runs in Central Yorkshire League Division Three.

Jackson was in superb form along with fellow opener Andrew Dracup as Parish A powered to 378-6. Dracup hit 88 while Jackson anchored the innings and reached 202 not out.

Ian Lay claimed 4-111 while Dan Pauley and Adam Roberts took a wicket each.

Roberts and fellow opener Joe Bentley made 21 each in reply while T Afzal hit 30 and Ahmir Ali top scored with 32 but Moorlands A were always struggling to reach the run rate required.

Pauley added 27 before he fell to Sam Pinder (3-27) and despite 25 not out by Richard Wood, Parish A wrapped up victory as fittingly Jackson took a catch off Neil Parkinson (5-35) to leave the visitors 202 all out. Paul Brook (1-67) and Thomas Fretwell (1-31) also struck.

Scholes A rose to sixth place after a third six-point win in a row, this time by four wickets at New Farnley A.

Nicky Johnson top scored with 62 as Farnley A were 199 all out. Ross Irving took 4-61 and Allan Pyle 4-37 while Danny Russon (1-42) and Steven west (1-550 also struck.

Alastair Butters (17) and Andy Spencer added 56 for the first wicket in reply before Spencer and James Tucker shared an 80-run stand. Spencer was out for a superb 95 and after Tucker hit 39, Nick Firth (16) and Russon (14no) helped guide Scholes A to 200-6.

Third-bottom Liversedge A lost by nine wickets at leaders Wakefield St Michaels A. Ben Tillotson made 15 as Liversedge A were 53 all out with Adam Fox taking 6-26. After Connor Rowlands (1-21) dismissed Martin Bramley (2), Fox made 30 not out as the hosts reached 54-1 in 11 overs.

Scholes rose to second place in Division Two after Joe Duffy and Paul James guided them to a six-wicket success at Gildersome.

The hosts were restricted to 166 all out, with Mark Simpson top scoring on 55. Duffy (3-30) and James (3-22) led the Scholes attack with support from Adam Minnett (1-36), Andrew Corrigan (1-27) and Neil Kellett (2-32).

In reply opener Chris Medcalf made 28 but after Gildersome fought back through Ian Dawson (3-42) and Simpson (1-51) the visitors were left on 62-4.

Duffy and James then took charge with an unbeaten stand of 108 to see Scholes to 170-4 in 29 overs. Duffy was 72 not out from 66 balls, with 12 fours and two sixes, while James reached 21 not out.

Scholes took over second place from Hopton Mills who lost by six wickets at home to Birstall A. Opener Mark Ashton made 21 and extras top scored with 27 as Mills who had reached 42-0 were skittled out for 81 in 35 overs. Nick Kaye claimed 4-11 in 6.4 overs with two maidens while Richard Sidle took 3-20 and Phil Davies 1-12.

Mills roared back as Michael Carroll (3-34) and Richard Myers (1-28) reduced Birstall A to 21-4, but Malcolm Ellis (39no) and Josh Twohig (13no) added 61 to see them reach 82-4 in 17 overs.

Asif Sheraz played a key role as Hopton Mills A went top of Division Four after a four-wicket win at Westwood Park A.

Westwood A were shot out for 111 by Vasant Patel (4-29) supported by Mark Hall (1-34), Wasim Iqbal (2-19) and Sheraz (3-5 in 6.4 overs with five maidens).

Sheraz then made 24 not out, while Patel hit 22 and Imran Khan 25 as Mills A reached 112-6 in 34 overs. Mills A are two points clear of Oulton A who lost to East Leeds A by four runs.