Cricket clubs to cheer on England

editorial image

Local cricket clubs will have the chance to cheer on England in Saturday’s World Cup quarter-final after both the Bradford League management board and Drakes Huddersfield League committee put provisions in place to alter start times of matches.

With the football due to kick off at 3pm, hundreds of players and officials faced the prospect of missing the big match.

However, the Bradford League acted swiftly following Tuesday’s dramatic penalty shoot out win over Colombia, giving two options so clubs can watch the football, while fulfilling fixtures.

One option allows matches to start at 9am and have a 10 minute break between innings, with tea taken on the completion of the game.

A second option is to start games at 11.30am and take a long tea interval, allowing players to watch the football, before resuming the second innings of matches.

Matches can still begin at the normal time of 1pm if clubs prefer, although that would mean those involved missing the England game.

Clubs had to inform the league by midnight last night if they had agreed with their opponents to start matches early.

The Drakes Huddersfield League - which includes Moorlands, Mirfield Parish and Mirfield - have also agreed to start games early on Saturday to allow players to watch the football.

The Huddersfield League committee has decided that all matches on Saturday will start at 11am with 30 overs a side and a 10 minute switch over at the end of the first innings with tea taken at the end of the match.

This will mean that the conclusion of the match, aside from any unforeseen delays, should conclude around the time England kick off.

There is no capacity to play this week’s Huddersfield League fixtures at the original start time of 1pm.

Proposed Bradford League start times (subject to umpires being approved).

Premier Division: Townville v Scholes (9am), East Bierley v Farsley (11.30am), Woodlands v Hanging Heaton (1pm), Cleckheaton v New Farnley (1pm), Pudsey St Lawrence v Lightcliffe (9am), Bradford & Bingley v Methley (1pm).

Championship One: Ossett v Yeadon (9am), Morley v Gomersal (11.30am), Bankfoot v Wrenthorpe (9am), Pudsey Congs v Baildon (1pm), Undercliffe v Hartshead Moor (1pm), Hunslet Nelson v Batley (11.30am).

Championship Two: Keighley v Wakefield St Michael’s (9am), Buttershaw St Paul’s v Northowram Fields (9am), Carlton v Altofts (9am), Brighouse v Hopton Mills (1pm), Birstall v East Ardsley (9am), Bowling Old Lane v Spen Victoria (9am).

Conference: Oulton v Jer Lane (11.30am), Great Preston v Gildersome (11.30am), Heckmondwike v Crossbank (1pm), East Leeds v Windhill (9am), Sandal v Rodley (9am), Azaad v Adwalton (1pm).

Second Teams

Premier Division: Yeadon v Ossett (TBC), Gomersal v East Bierley (9am), Hanging Heaton v Woodlands (1pm), New Farnley v Pudsey Congs (1pm), Lightcliffe v Pudsey St Lawrence (9am), Batley v Bowling Old Lane (1pm).

Championship One: Wakefield St Michael’s v Carlton (1pm), Farsley v Morley (11.30am), Wrenthorpe v Bankfoot (9am), Baildon v Cleckheaton (9am), East Ardsley v Undercliffe (1pm), Methley v Bradford & Bingley (1pm).

Championship Two: Altofts v Townville (11.30am), Northowram Fields v Great Preston (11.30am), Hopton Mills v Brighouse (1pm), Scholes v Keighley (9am), Hartshead Moor v Birstall (11.30am), Spen Victoria v Azaad (1pm).

Conference: Jer Lane v Oulton (11.30am), Gildersome v Buttershaw St Paul’s (11.30am), Crossbank v Heckmondwike (1pm), Windhill v East Leeds (1pm), Rodley v Sandal (1pm), Adwalton v Hunslet Nelson (9am).