Hitchen and Dunford have sights set on bowls double

Lower Hopton bowler Robert Hitchen has qualified for the DV Mellor Pairs and Mirfield Merit finals, which will both be held this Sunday.
Lower Hopton bowler Robert Hitchen has qualified for the DV Mellor Pairs and Mirfield Merit finals, which will both be held this Sunday.

The DV Mellor Mirfield Pairs Bowls final takes place at Crossland Moor this Sunday (start 10.30am), followed by the Mirfield Merit Final, which is being held at sponsors Lockwood Cons, starting at 3pm.

Robert Dunford (Morton House) and Robert Hitchen (Lower Hopton) will be targeting double success having qualified for both finals.

DV Mellor Mirfield Pairs Finalists: W Moseley & J McMahon (Crosland Moor), M Atkinson & G Siswick (Crosland Moor), D Cowsill & A Webb (Alverthorpe), R Dunford & A Leach (Morton House), P Mottram & S Thompson (Denby Grange), L Griffin & I Booth (Lower Hopton), N Haigh & S Haigh (Meltham), R Hitchen & GI Wilson (Lower Hopton).

Mirfield Merit Finalists: Robert Dunford (Morton House), Nicky White (Thongsbridge), Gareth Coates (Lower Hopton), Gary Siswick (Crosland Moor), Craig Gant (Thongsbridge), Nick Jagger (The Harold), Paul Mottram (Denby Grange), Stephen Gilroy (Crossgates), Danny Walker (Denby Grange), Alex Wolfeden (Littlemoor), Tom Hanson (Pudsey), Paul Wilczynski (Littlemoor), Kieran O’Prey (Bradley & Colne), Jack Hill (Barnsley), Jon Wilcox (Crossgates), Robert Hitchen (Lower Hopton).

North Kirklees Veterans

Team Knockout Finals

Division 1: Overthorpe 139, Cleckheaton Sports A 132.

Division 2: Mirfield Parish A 149, Cleckheaton Sports B 128.

Division 3: Staincliffe Park 153, Cleckheaton Moorend 121.

Division 4: Denby Grange 145, Grange Park 136.

Helen Gilroy, of Rufford Park, won the Yorkshire Crown Green Bowling Ladies Merit Hyman Morris Trophy when she beat former winner Alexis Lunn-Gadd (Ossett Flying Horse) 21-13 in the final at Lund Park, Keighley last Sunday.

Gilroy, a former British Crown Green Ladies champion, had been a runner-up in 2012.

The competition was played on very fast running greens with some excellent bowling in the tricky conditions.

Gilroy took an early 12-2 and although Lunn-Gadd rallied to 13 it wasn’t enough to prevent the former closing out the match.

Quarter-finals: Helen Gilroy (Rufford Park) 21, Linda Gledhill (New Mill) 20; Faye Ellis (Skipton Craven) 17, Debbie Davis (Pudsey) 21; Kath Taylor (Chapel Allerton) 9, Fern Beaumont (New Mill) 21; Natalie Hughes Cross Gates) 8, Alexis Lunn-Gadd (Ossett Flying Horse) 21.

Semi-finals: Helen Gilroy 21, Debbie Davis 17; Fern Beaumont (New Mill) 13, Alexis Lunn-Gadd 21.

The West Riding and Spen Valley CGBA host their singles and pairs finals at different venues on Sunday.

The pairs finals will be held at Cleckheaton Sports, with a 10.30am start, followed by the individual final at Rastrick Bowling and Social Club, start 2.30pm.

Dress code applies for both finals and refreshments will be available to both venues.

Both competitions have been sponsored by the Foulkes family in memory of Pauline Foulkes.

Entries are now being accepted for the West Riding Open Merit competition, which is also being sponsored by the Foulkes family.

The competition will be held on Sunday September 9, start 10am, and the entry fee is £5 with full details available from David Arnold on 07805 996468.

Pairs Qualifiers: Chris Ellis & Scott Tattersley (Spen Victoria), Mark Allman & Craig Hebbard (Littlemoor), Craig Farquharson & Alex Wolfenden (Littlemoor & Overthorpe), Ashley Tattersley & James Martin (Lower Hopton), Lee Murgatroyd & John Blackburn (Spen Victoria), Wally Whytell & Stuart Fletcher (Brighouse Sports), Tom Lawrence & Andy Hodgson (Pudsey & Brighouse Sports), Paul Rooks & Paul Hillam (Eccleshill).

Individual Qualifiers: Danny Towning (Middleton Community), Simon Wider (Littlemoor), Paul Warwick (Heckmondwike), Dean Scarth (Pudsey BC), Harold Hick (Mirfield Old Bank), Phil Bryant (Spen Victoria), Danny Teale (Ossett Flying Horse), Andy Chadwick (Castleford Town), Paul Rooks (Eccleshill), Ross Ingham (Thornhill), Jamie Hulley (Rastrick Sports & Social), Andrew Page (Cleckheaton Sports), Gary Foulkes (Ossett Flying Horse), Marc Armitage (Littlemoor), Frank Griffin (Mirfield Old Bank), Nigel Marshall (Brighouse Sports).