Yorkshire bowlers aiming to make their mark in inter county clashes

editorial image

The Yorkshire Parks bowls team take on Shropshire Parks in an inter-county fixture at Hanging Heaton CC on Sunday (June 17, start 20pm).

Draw: Stuart King v Martin Lloyd, Simon Walder v Scott Moseley, Marc Armitage v Ian Maloonali, Mark Allman v Andy Smith,Lewis Cooper v Gary Beff, Nathan Dobson v Alex Hassall, Luke Teale v Richard Pullen, Peter Jagger v Chris Stretch, Scott Bloodworth v Tim Jordan, Joe Stockdale v Matt Beeston, Adam Wider v Matt Blackhurst, Paul Tobin v Cedric Bankroft.

The Yorkshire Ladies County, sponsored by Damart, face Burton & District in the second game of the first stage round robin on Sunday.

The two teams have not met since 2009, but the Burton side includes several bowlers who played in the South Derbyshire teams against Yorkshire four years ago.

Yorkshire will be looking to build on their excellent first win in a bid to retain the Inter-County Championship Trophy.

The home team are playing at Marsh United and the away team visit Swadlincote Catholic Club, both games starting at 2pm.


At Marsh Utd: Fern Beaumont (New Mill) v Lin Baghurst; Karen Gant (Meltham) v Victoria Mosley; Linda Gledhill (New Mill) capt. v Lynn Wilkins; Marie Lockwood (New Mill) v Michelle Lawton; Alicia Beaumont (Meltham) v Colleen Chattenden; Sophie Brown (Farnley Tyas) v Kerry Lees; Chloe Hirst (Hove Edge) v Jackie Draper; Dill Harvey (Meltham) v Helen Jackson; Lynda Drury (New Mill) v Sharon Tatem; Chloe Ghaffar (Meltham) v Linda Wheeldon; Jacquie Haigh (Meltham) v Karen Worsey; Julie Mallinson (Lockwood Cons) v Tracey Mosley.

At Swadlincote Catholic Club: Alexis Lunn-Gadd (Ossett Flying Horse) v Mary Mousley; Helen Gilroy (Rufford Park) v Rita Blood; Karen Hill (Ossett Flying Horse) v Wendy Jckson; Nichole Farrar (Whitkirk) v Yvonne Sweet; Katy Atkinson (Lockwood Cons) v Barbara Harrison; Viv Abel (Silsden) v Marie Worthington; Lisa Daykin (Thongsbridge) vConnie Wain; Debbie Talbot (New Mill) v Debra Stallard; Suzy Ladbrooke (Lockwood Cons) v Pauline Jarvis; Andrea Buckley (New Mill) v Anita Mansfield; Mandy Wilson (Chapel Allerton) v Barbara Lowe; Sharon Gadd (West Park) v Jane Hudson.

Kath and Derek Robinson, won the Heavy Woollen Parks Pairs competition at Thornhill Bowling Club.

They held their nerve to edge out Steve Wainwright and Andy Mitchell 21-20 in a thrilling final and were presented with the trophy by Trevor Jowett on behalf of competition sponsors Carpet Direct.

B Elliot and H Butler along with J Woodhouse and Green were the beaten semi-finalists on a cracking day of bowls.

The Mirfield Pairs bowls competition prliminary rounds take place next Tuesday (June 19) with a start and scratch time of 6.45pm.

Eight venues will be used and the draws will take place on the green on the evening with matches played down to the last two pairs at each venue.

At Pudsey BC: C Davies & A Sykes (MOB), B Falkingham & J Bowes (Littlemoor) S Daniel & N Miller Ossett C&AC, J&M Armitage (Littlemoor), C Austin/G Coates (MOB), P Ingleby & G Hickey (Hopton), D&J Goodall (Royds/Moorend), K Walder & T Green (Whitkirk), S Thompson & P Mottram (Denby Grange).

At Meltham BC: M Pollard & T Graham (Slaithwaite), I Ross & R Jackson (Thongsbridge), B Beeby & C Davies (Crosland Moor), K Spencer & P Toon (Bradley), B Tinker & J Ollerenshaw (Longwood), P Piercy & J Hunsley (Longwood), T Boothroyd & L Fallas (Crosland Moor), M Richardson & J Greenalgh (Crosland Moor), W Mosley & J McMahon (Crosland Moor).

At Spen Victoria: C Bray & M Rhodes (Cleckheaton), A&J Walker (Cleckheaton), D Smith & D Hennesey (Rothwell), L&S Wider (Littlemoor), P Wilczynski & A Wider (Littlemoor), J Hanson & J Edmondson (Pudsey), L Griffin & I Booth (Hopton), W&T Hirst (Hopton), N Booth & Partner (Moorend).

At Bradley & Colne: M Summers & A Heanan (Cleckheaton/Harold), M Allman & S Gilroy (Littlemoor/Crossgates), H Seehra/S Walder Crossgates/Hopton, P Hill & P Tobin (Whitkirk), A Daykin & M Richardson(Thongsbridge/Lockwood), R Walker & B Holland (Meltham), T Marslan & J Wareing (Meltham), M Atkinson & G Siswick (Crosland Moor), M Sweeney & S King Crosland (Moor/Hopton).

At Longwood BC: N&S Haigh (Meltham), G Beaumont & C Ghaffar (Meltham), I Dowle & M McDermott (Dodworth), M Peacock & S Price (Milnsbridge), D Radcllife & M Hill (Bradley), R Mallinson & T Fowler (Crosland Moor), T Brook & R Whitwam (Crosslad Moor), A Harper & M Wood (Lockwood).

At Ossett Cricket &AC: D Cowsill & A Webb (Alverthorpe/Ossett Flying Horse), D Sharp & K Morton (Mirfield OB), D Upton & S Morris (Pudsey), L Sandford & D Morris (Pudsey), W Kemp & M Hill (Wakefield), R Ingham & A Mitchell (Thornhil), G Higgins & N Slattery (Lower Hopton/Bradley), J Smith & S Kemp (Spen Victoria), M Taylor & M Wood (Crossgates).

At Lower Hopton: P Schofield & E Wilkinson (Alverthorpe), R Bentley & P Gill (Cleckheaton), G Dennison & M Turner (Rothwell), G Wike & C Hatton (Pudsey), C Fennell & J Dudding (Wakefield), G Molineux & P Garside (Harold), J Blackburn & Partner (Spen), Jon Wilcox & I Jeffers Crossgates, D Pitchforth & J Makepeace (Denby Grange).

At Mirfield Old Bank: M Regan & P Clark (Brighouse) M&N Whitaker (Ossett C&AC), G Mountain & R Mitchell (Thornhill), R Toulson & G Sharp (Cleckheaton), P Lamb & P Long (Ossett), M Robinson & S Fisher (Morton/Denby), R Dunford & Partner (Morton House), GI Wilson & R Hitchen (Hopton), C Scorah & Partner (Denby Grange).

Gerald Bromley, of Heckmondwike BC, won the North Kirklees Individual Handicap competition for the first time last Friday.

He comfortably beat all his opponents to reach the final at Cleckheaton Moorend, where he went on to overcome David Wilmot (Mirfield Parish BC) 21-17.

Bromley took a commanding lead and although he was pegged back to 15-15, he went on to seal victory and lift the trophy.

North Kirklees Team Knockout Finals

Thursday June 28 (1.30pm)

Division 1: Cleckheaton Sports A v Overthorpe (at Heckmondwike No 1 green)

Division 2: Cleckheaton Sports B v Mirfield Parish (at Heckmondwike No 2 green).

Division 3: Cleckheaton Moorend v Staincliffe Park (at Cleckheaton Sports back green)

Division 4: Grange Park v Denby Grange (at Cleckheaton Sports top green).