Norristhorpe back on track following hard-fought victory over Leeds Medics

Norristhorpe moved up to third place in Yorkshire Amateur League Division Three following a 2-1 win over Leeds Medics Fourth team last Saturday.

Saturday, 5th November 2016, 9:55 am
Updated Wednesday, 16th November 2016, 4:50 pm
Norristhorpe Under-10s have made an impressive start to their Huddersfield Junior League season.

Liam Davidson gave Norristhorpe a first half lead but Medics equalised before half-time.

James Scurrah finished in style to give Norristhorpe victory in an excellent contest, as the home side ended a four match losing run.

Batelians earned a 2-0 win away to St Bedes in Division One as Ty Akram’s own goal gave the visitors a first half lead before Jamie Smith secured all three points with their second after the break.

Dewsbury Rangers booked a place in the Yorkshire Old Boys Shield second round with a 3-0 win over Woodkirk Valley thanks to goals from Rob Smith, Jack Smith and 17-year-old Arran Wroe.

Rangers face a trip to Apollo in the second round.

Rangers Reserves secured a 4-2 win over Woodkirk Valley Reserves in Division Five but Norristhorpe Reserves went down 4-0 at Shire Academics.

Batelians Reserves earned their first win of the season in Division Six as they overcame Huddersfield Amateurs Reserves 5-1.

Batelians had a stronger side on duty than of recent weeks and Scott Milloy had a terrific game, setting up two goals and scoring one himself.

Craig Marshall bagged a brace, while Chris Goodair and Daniel Lister also scored.

n Norristhorpe Juniors Under-10s have made a great start in the Huddersfield Junior Football League with some fantastic performances, showing great skill and determination combined with a superb team ethic.

The team are pictured in their new playing kit, sponsored by Edmondson’s IT Services, and rain jackets, sponsored by Kidz Klobber.

The team consists of, back row left to right: Charlie Clayton, Jacob Dean, Edward Peel, Ben Proctor, Flynn Helliwell, Alex Speake, Jake Smithson, Billy Mallinson and William Payne.

Front row: George Scott, Mitchell Brownsett, Jude Hatfield-Goodall, Ben Scatchard, Thomas Edmondson, Kian Walker and Reilly Todd.