Smith scoops opening bowls men's merit prize

Kez Smith won the season opening Men's Merit, sponsored by Keith Milner of KM Wedding Motors, held at Thornhill Cricket and Bowls Club with an impressive victory in a closely contested final beating Stuart King 21-20.

Tuesday, 5th April 2016, 9:28 am
Competition semi-finalists with Keith Miller of KM Wedding Motors,

Smith beat Adam Wadsworth 21-13 in the first round, Robert Maude 21-10 in second round, Peter Ellis 21- 20 in the quarter final and Josh Mordue 21-18 in the semis.

Stuart King beat Frank Griffin 21-11 in the first round, Michael Sweeney 21-19 in second, Nick White 21-14 in the quarter-final and Colin Heywood 21-11 in the semis.

Overthorpe Sports Club junior bowls section begin their season with an open practice session for all youngsters at the club this Saturday at 10am. Old and new players are welcome and bowls will be provided.

West Riding Cup Qualifying Round (Saturday March 26): Lower Hopton A 223 Ossett Flying Horse187; Clayton Victoria 210 Guiseley 198; Mirfield Old Bank A 226 Cleckheaton Sports B 152; Mirfield OB B (lost) Eccleshill (won); Morton House 198 Crossgates 210; Spen Victoria B 145 Pudsey BC A 249; Hightown Club 180 Pudsey Littlemoor 235; Lower Hopton B 198 Pudsey BC B 232; Cleckheaton Sports A 177 Spen Victoria A 233; Elland CA & BC 206 Brighouse A 226; Cleckheaton Moorend 171 Overthorpe Sports 211; Harold Club (won) Brighouse B (lost); Spen Victoria C 212 Rastrick S&S 197. Shipley Club- Bye.

West Riding Cup first round (Friday April 1, 7pm): Shipley Club v Eccleshill @ Pudsey BC, Spen Victoria A v Pudsey BC B @ Mirfield OB, Clayton Victoria v Mirfield OB A @ Spen Victoria, Crossgates v Overthorpe Sp @ Lower Hopton, Spen Victoria C v Harold Club @ Hightown, Pudsey Littlemoor v Brighouse A @ Cleckheaton Sports. Byes: Pudsey BC A, Lower Hopton A.

Pilling Cup first round: Elland v Cleckheaton Sp A @ Rastrick, Spen Victoria B v Morton House @ Elland, Cleckheaton Moorend v Hightown Club @ Overthorpe Sp, Cleckheaton Sp B v Brighouse B @ Elland, Lower Hopton B v Mirfield OB B @ Ossett FH. Byes: Ossett FH, Guiseley, Rastrick.