Smith secures impressive Ronnie Walker trophy win

Ronny Walker Bowls Trophy Finalists
Ronny Walker Bowls Trophy Finalists

Viv Smith won the Spen Valley Veterans Ronnie Walker Trophy final after an excellent afternoon’s bowling at Birkenshaw last Friday.

Finalists were L Mitchell, D Bentley, S Inman, K Jackson, Viv Smith, D Clarke and J Green, while injury prevented D Terry from bowling.

Organisers thanked Birkenshaw for hosting the final, sponsors RPJ Kitchens and Bathrooms and all the bowlers who entered.

n The Dewsbury Parks Veterans Team Knock-out Cup finals take place at Holdroyd Park This Friday (June 13) at 1.30pm.

Division A: Earlsheaton A v Ossett C&AC A.

Division B: Rock House v Overthorpe.

n Delegates should note the next meeting will be at Soothill Bowling Club on Monday June 16 at 10.30am, when entries for the Ronnie Robinson Trophy need to be submitted.

Cleckheaton Sports Bowls Classic

Results from June 6

First round: Paul Bailey (Sheffield) 21, Josh Mordue (Brighouse) 20; Chris Slater (N Wales) 6, Martin Gilpin (Kendal) 21; Tony Riley (Brighouse) 12, Danmny Sillitoe (Doncaster) 21; Ashley Tattersley (Huddersfield) wo Anthony Thompson (Wallasey), Chris Modue (Brighouse) 21, Ian Nicholson (Kendal) 19; Andy Farmer (Sheffield) wo Matt Gilmore (Wallasey), Chris Brown (Sheffield) 21, Geraint Jones (N Wales) 17); Andy Ferris (Congleton) 21, Mike Sweeney (Morton House) 17.

Second round: Paul Bailey 13, Martin Gilpin 21; Danny Sillitoe 17, Ashley Tattersley 21; Chris Mordue 13, Andy Farmer 21; Chris Brown 21, Andy Ferris 5.

Qualifying round: Martin Gilpin 17, Ashley Tattersley 21 (Tattersley drew no 5); Chris Brown 21, Andy Farmer 16 (Brown drew no12).

Results from June 7.

First round:Stuart Goodwin (Warrington) 13, Jon Bailey (Conwy) 21; Gary Ellis (Whitfield) 21, Alex Heaps (Warrington) 10; Roger Morgan (Sale) 21, David Scott (Silsden) 14; David Watters (Preston) 21, Paul Burke (Chapel Allerton) 19; Warren Wilson (Chapel Allerton) 7, Steven Baskerville (Sale) 21; Tom Downy (Manchester) 12, Scott Fisher (Denby Grange) 21; Tommy Johnstone (Poynton) 21, Daniel Jones (North Wales) 7; Neil Grant (Manchester) 21, Carl Armitage (Warrington) 14.

Second round: John Bailey 18, Gary Ellis 21; Roger Morgan 12, David Watters 21; Steven Baskerville 15, Scott Fisher 21; Tommy Johnstone 21, Neil Grant 17.

Qualifying round: Gary Ellis 17, David Watters 21 (Watters drew no 14); Scott Fisher 16, Tommy Johnstone 16.

Draw for Friday June 13: Paul Hillam (Pudsey) v Mark Hughes (Crossgates), Robert O’Shea (Preston) v James Fitzpatrick (Liverpool), David Hayward (Cannock) v Tony Throup (Hanging Heaton), Chris Kelly (Sheffield) v Peter Clarke (Crossroads), Ian Shaw (Pudsey) v Keith Anderson (Cannock), David Jackson (Preston) v Gary Smith (Leeds), Ryan Clark (Sheffield) v Wayne Ditchfield (Chorley), Archie Wilcox (Crossgates) v Robbie Fitzpatrick (Liverpool).

Draw for Saturday June 14: Matt Fallows (Potteries) v Darren Holt (Rochdale), Christopher Barton (Wallasey) v Harry Seehra (Crossgates), Lee Brown (Potteries) v Dean Scarth (Hanging Heaton), Glynn Cookson (Winsford) v Martin Ogiliev (Altrincham), Andrew Sykes (Mirfield) v Mike Helliwell (Bury), Matthew Hill (Milton Recs) v Owne Doyle (Wallasey), Paul Mottram (Alverthorpe) v Simon Walder (Lower Hopton), George Podmore (Potteries) v Stephen Leach (Rochdale).