South African Steenkamp smashes season’s best total as Hopton Mills defeat Hartshead

editorial image

Hopton Mills produced a superb batting performance on their way to a 135-run victory over Hartshead Moor in the Bradford League Championship B Division.

South African batsman Louren Steenkamp hit the season’s top score of 171 not out, which included nine sixes and 19 fours.

Steenkamp was joined in a fourth-wicket partnership of 144 by Andrew Grey (81) as Hopton made 324-4.

Craig Field led the Hartshead reply of 189 with a fine knock of 90 but it wasn’t enough to spare his side from a resounding defeat.

Gomersal are up to third place after a 36-run victory at Brighouse.

Gomersal made 217-7 with Adam Greenwood (63), Arsaam Malik (45) and Jack Seddon (41) in form.

James Russell picked up 4-21 as Brighouse were restricted to 181-9 in reply. Wajid Hussain top scored with 38.

Spen Victoria suffered a four-wicket defeat to in-form Bankfoot, who are hot on the heels of early leaders Townville.

Spen captain Ollie Davison made a battling 55 as his side were bowled out for 141 with Sohail Hussain taking 5-42.

Shoukat Ali’s 63 helped Bankfoot to secure victory despite the efforts of young spin bowler Alex Leadbeater (4-61).

Townville are nine points clear at the top after a third straight win, over Bowling Old Lane.

Farakh Hussain (55) and Amjid Hussain (47) helped Old Lane post 200, with Kulpreet Chhabra (4-47) and Jack Hebden (3-57) impressing .

Matthew Bremner (80) and Jack Hughes (59) led Townville to a six-wicket win.

Wrenthorpe earned a thrilling six-wicket win over their old Central Yorkshire rivals Methley.

Overseas player Darryl Hendricks proved to be their match winner with a stylish unbeaten 110 as they chased down an impressive Methley total to 295-5 which included a magnificent 143 not out from captain Grant Soames.

Batley maintained their unbeaten record in Championship A after they secured a nail-biting one wicket win at Keighley.

Muhammad Tahir (4-12) was pick of the Batley bowlers, while Huzaifa Patel (3-45) supported as Keighley were dismissed for 177, with Australian Ben Hastie hitting five sixes and nine fours in his 101.

Despite the efforts of Aqeel Mukhtar (37), Tariq Mehboob (31) and Asif Ayub, Batley were reduced to 129-8 as Matthew Haines (4-49) threatened to win the game for Keighley.

Ayub shared a crucial ninth wicket stand with Mohammed Shahnawaz (27) and eventually finished 49 not out to steer Batley over the line.

Birstall are still searching for their first win after an 83-run defeat against Undercliffe.

The visitors were bowled out for 183, despite the efforts of Gulsheraz Ahmed (45), as Craig Wood (3-29) and Kamran Khan (3-58) impressed.

Although Siraj Hussain (33no) led Birstall’s reply, they were undone by paceman Zeeshan Qasim (6-16) and spinner Amir Hussain (3-16) and were bowled out for just 100.

Liversedge were dismissed for just 91 against Baildon, who had Abid Awan (4-44) and Blake Glen (5-41) in terrific form, despite Muhammed Fayyez (34) top scoring.

Jack Hainsworth hit 27 not out as Baildon eased home by eight wickets.

Heckmondwike & Carlinghow suffered their first defeat in the Conference as they went down by three wickets to Great Preston.

Khurram Shehzad made 74 in Heckmondwike’s 182 but Great Preston eased to victory with David Illingworth making 37 and Ian Newton (34no).

Paul Cooper took 4-44 for Heckmondwike.

Crossbank Methodists earned their first win, defeating Rodley by 50 runs.

Christian Duncan hit 61 and James Lord (42) in Crossbank’s total of 202-7.

Frederik Raz took 4-36 in reply as Crossbank restricted Rodley to 162-8 to move up to ninth place. Gary Lewsley top scored with an unbeaten 53.