Spen Victoria win cup tie on faster scoring rate

SPEN Victoria made a piece of Bradford League history last Sunday when they became the first club to win a Priestley Cup tie on the new faster scoring rate rule.

Bankfoot, who were bowled out for 200 in 39 overs, were marginally ahead on overall run rate when play was halted 11 overs into the Spen reply.

When play resumed there was only time for 12 more overs. Tosh Baker hit one six and 13 fours on his way to 84 not out and overhauling the Bankfoot run rate. The new rules played a big part in a controversial end to Hanging Heaton’s tie against Pudsey St Lawrence.

Chasing the visitors total of 286-6 and with rain in the air, Heaton knew they had to score at 5.7 runs an over to progress.

Rob McFarlane (57), Mark Lawson (42) and Imran Dawood (36) helped Heaton make a blistering start as they raced towards their target. However, the umpires played on during heavy rain and although Nick Bresnan (67) appeared to be guiding Heaton home when he fell, the game swung in St Lawrence’s favour and the visitors completed a 25-run victory.

Earlier Pudsey opener Mark Robertshaw hit four sixes and 15 fours on his way to 137.

Opener Sam Frankland (44), Chris Brice (44) and Pieter Swanepoel (31no) helped Woodlands reach 221-8, with Andrew Duckworth (3-43) pick of the Farsley bowling.

Scott Richardson returned tremendous figures of 5-37 and spinner Chris Brice chipped in with 3-25 as Farsley were dismissed for 169.

East Bierley captain Lee Goddard hit an unbeaten 77 and opener Gharib Razak (86) as they defeated Division Two leaders Lightcliffe by seven wickets in just 34.5 overs.

Cup holders Bradford & Bingley eased into the second round with a 121-run victory over Gomersal.

Simon Davies (90) and Naweed Ghany (80) helped Bingley to reach 318-6.

Opener Andy Gorrod (49) and captain Richard Whitehurst (42) were Gomersal’s top scorers but they were eventually dismissed for 197.

In the Priestley Shield there were wins for East Bierley, Gomersal, who overcame Bradford & Bingley on a faster scoring rate and Woodlands. Hanging Heaton lost to Pudsey St Lawrence and Spen Victoria could only field eight men as they lost by seven wickets to Bankfoot.

Priestley Cup second round (to be played on Monday May 30, 1pm): Pudsey St Lawrence v Spen Victoria, East Bierley v Great Horton, Hartshead Moor v Cleckheaton, Keighley v Idle, Windhill v Manningham Mills, Undercliffe v Woodlands, Saltaire v Bradford & Bingley, Bowling OL v Pudsey Congs.

Shield second round: Windhill v Manningham Mills*, Hartshead Moor v Bankfoot*, Baildon v Brighouse, Cleckheaton v Woodlands, East Bierley v Yeadon*, Pudsey St Lawrence v Idle*, Undercliffe v Pudsey Congs*, Keighley v Gomersal*

*Denotes venue to be switched.