Yorkshire bowlers seal county hat-trick

Audenshaw's Graeme Wilson meets Pudsey's Duncan Reeves in the Brighouse bowls classic tonight.
Audenshaw's Graeme Wilson meets Pudsey's Duncan Reeves in the Brighouse bowls classic tonight.

Yorkshire secured a hat-trick of triumphs as the county men women and junior teams won their respective matches in the national championships.

Yorkshire ladies beat neighbours South Yorkshire by 78 points to reach the County Championship semi-final and are joined at the same stage by the Yorkshire men and juniors teams.

Alexis Lunn-Gadd (Ossett Flying Horse) won 21-3, captain Andrea Buckley (New Mill) 21-4, Helen Gilroy (Rufford Park) and Debbie Talbot (New Mill) 21-7 for Yorkshire Ladies in the away leg played at Crookesmoor, Sheffield.

The home team impressed on a fast green at Paddock C&BC with great wins by Julie Best (Marsh Utd) 21-7, Karen Gant (Meltham) 21-5, captain Linda Gledhill (New Mill) 21-7 and homester Fern Beaumont .

Yorkshire Ladies will meet Shropshire in the semi-final on Sunday August 7.

At Paddock: Yorkshire 231, South Yorkshire 184: Jacqui Roper (Meltham) 21 Jackie Fraser 16; Julie Best (Marsh Utd) 21, Linda Hawksworth 7; Karen Whitefoot (Marsh Utd) 21, Andrea Ainley 20; Fern Beaumont (Paddock) 21, Connie Helliwell 10; Suzanne Howarth (New Mill) 20, Margaret Smith 21; Karen Gant (Meltham) 21, Bev Shannon 5; Linda Gledhill (New Mill) 21, Natasha Jackson 7; Lisa Daykin (Thongsbridge) 13, Lisa Bromwell 21, Chloe Hirst (Halifax) 21, Katie Morgan 15; Julie Mallinson (Lockwood Con) 21, Sarah Fox 20; Lorraine Hirst (Linthwaite Hall) 14, Hillary Bennett 21; Suzi Ladbrooke (Lockwood Cons) 16, Christine Davies 21.

At Crookesmoor Park:Yorkshire 213, South Yorkshire 182: Nichole Farrar (Whitkirk) 19, Jayne Hamilton 21; Dawn Bray (Ossett Flying Horse) 17, Jennifer Wilby 21; Alexis Lunn-Gadd (Ossett Flying Horse) 12, Shirley Darnill 3; Andrea Buckley (New Mill) 21, Linda Rowland 4; Debi Davies (Pudsey BC) 21, Anna Wilson 15; Debbie Talbot (New Mill) 21,Yvonne Hamilton 15; Helen Gilroy (Rufford Park) 21, Jayne Gough 18; Joanne Speight (Cranmore) 13, Janet Bisett 21; Carron McGrath (Linthwaite Hall) 9, Susan Hill 21; Mo Chambers (Glasshoughton) 21, Debbie Farmer 12; Sally Turner (Mirfield C&B) 21, Kerry Brown 18; Laura Middleton (New Mill) 8, Melanie Saville-Fearn 21.

West Riding defeated Huddersfield 29 points to 27 in their latest Inter District game and face Leeds in their next match on July 29 with the home leg at Thornhill and away game at Burley Park, with both starting at 1.30pm.

Home Team: R Bray, JD Smith (Royds),M Maguire (Spen), R Bentley, P Fincher, J Glazzard, J Ineson ( Sports), I Poutney ( Lower Hopton).

Away Team, at Burley Park, from: D North, J Watson, T Render (Hanging Heaton), J Green ( Old Bank), L Mitchell, G Hird (Hightown), C Hirst (Lower Hopton), R Blackburn (Overthorpe), D Walker (Thornhill).

Any player not available should contact 01924 406319 or 07772 910983 (home team) and 01274-873268 (away team).

There is a strong line up for the first qualifying round of the £5,300 Brighouse Classic which takes place tonight (Friday), with a 6.30pm start.

Previous winner Graeme Wilson (Audenshaw) opens up against Duncan Reeves (Pudsey).

Full draw: Tommy Johnstone (Poynton) v Nicky White (Sheffield), Joel Abdy (Lower Hopton) v Matt Gilmore (Wallasey), David Hallam (Sheffield) v Dan Ferris (Leek), Graeme Wilson (Audenshaw) v Duncan Reeves (Pudsey), Jack Hargreaves (Hyde) v Richard Jackson (Sheffield), Paul Burke (Leeds) v Gareth Nicholson (Halifax), Chris Brown (Sheffield) v John Ineson (Cleckheaton), David Mallinson (Sheffield) v Robert Hitchen (Halifax).

Craig Newton (Wakefield) and Tommy Johnstone (Poynton) were last Saturday’s qualifiers for the Spen Masters final.

Newton overcame Greg Smith (West Bromwich) 21-16 in the qualifying round having previously had a walkover against Liverpool’s Steven Davies before overcoming Joel Abdy (Lower Hopton) 21-16.

Johnstone edged out Jack Hargreaves (Hyde) 21-20 in his qualifying round having previously defeated John Hanson (Blackpool) 21-15 and Stephen Leach (Rochdale) 21-14.

Spen Masters Third Qualifying Round

Saturday July 16.

First round: Greg Smith (West Bromwich) 21, Colin Scorah (Crossgates) 5; Paul Hillam (Bradford) 21, Alec Heaps (Poynton) 10; Steven Davies (Liverpool) 0, Craig Newton (Wakefield) walkover; Joel Abdy (Lower Hopton) 21, Craig Newton (Skipton) 9; David Poole (Sandal) 15, Dave McDermott (Wirral) 21; Tommy Johnstone (Poynton) 21, John Hanson (Blackpool) 15; Derek Seed 14, Stephen Leach (Rochdale) 21; Harry Seehra (Lower Hopton) 16, Jack Hargreaves (Hyde) 21.

Second round: Greg Smith 21, Paul Hillam 15; Craig Newton 21, Joel Abdy 16; Dave McDermott 15, Tommy Johnstone 21; Stephen Leach 14, Jack Hargreaves (21).

Qualifying Round: Greg Smith 16, Craig Newton 21; Tommy Johnstone 21, Jack Hargreaves 20.

Newton drew no6 for the final and Johnstone drew no14.

Fourth round (Saturday July 23, practise 5.30pm for a 6pm start): Callum Wraight (Shrewsbury), Rob Jordan (Manchester), Kevin Burns (Ossett Flying Horse), Paul Burke (Leeds), Jack Dyson (Netherton), John Metters (Blackpool), Clay Flattley (Shropshire), Andrew Cairns (Rossendale), Andrew Judson (Shrewsbury), Neil Grant (Manchester), Hugh Hornby (Preston), Gareth Lally (Crossgates), Ashley Daykin (Netherton), Mark Dobson (Pudsey), Paul Williams (Shropshire), Robert Hitchen (Halfax).